I Dream of Tiny Houses…

…or more specifically, one tiny house in particular…

my tiny house.

Tiny house...making a dream become a reality

Y’all! I have exciting news – Lyle and I have started working toward our dream of building our own tiny house.

I’m sure most of you have heard of tiny houses, but if you haven’t you can find out more about them here.

This is something that I have thought and dreamed about for a while now, and Lyle and I have lightly thrown around the idea before. But this weekend we sat down, seriously discussed it, and started making plans toward achieving this dream!

| Stay up to date on my tiny house inspiration and plans here |

Oh how I wish that we had a tiny house ready to move into tomorrow, but sadly I don’t really see that miracle happening. πŸ™‚ So alas, the long (but fun and adventurous) process starts now!

Steps toward our tiny house dream:

1. Start getting rid of stuff! I’m talking get rid of like 80-90% of what we own! Man am I excited (and scared) for this step…
2. Prepare our house to go on the market.
3. Find the perfect trailer on which to build our tiny house!
4. Start designing the layout of our perfect little 200 square foot (approx.) house.
5. Find and buy a plot of land for our home.

Of course there are like a bazillion little steps in each of these big general steps, but you get the picture.

| So what do you think? Are we crazy? |

21 thoughts on “I Dream of Tiny Houses…

  1. This is so awesome, Paige! I’ve read different articles about tiny houses and have always been intrigued. I saw your tiny house pinterest board the other day and wondered if you were planning to build one! I’m excited to follow along on this journey with you!!

  2. You know what, gurl? GOOD.FOR.YOU. You’re ecological footprint is going to be TINY and if this works for you and your beau, what a fun adventure to be had. I can’t wait to eventually see the progress!

      1. Oh man…the first time I saw them I thought that there was no way I could ever live in such a small space. But the past few years I have been growing more and more tired of all of the stuff that is so easy to accumulate in a regular sized home. And the upkeep and maintenance is horrible. So I started looking into tiny houses and started falling in love with the idea of living simple and small.

      2. I couldn’t agree more with growing tired of all the random crap you accumulate. We just moved into a smaller home and as soon as we started moving we realized there was no way we could fit all of our stuff in our new house. One of my favorite things has been having to get rid of all of our useless stuff! The idea of living simple is amazing!

  3. I can’t believe I missed this announcement! I think compared to society you are crazy, but I personally think that’s a good thing! Honestly, if we didn’t live somewhere that had freezing temperatures for half the year I would go down to a much smaller house and have a bigger yard but I find we need the house for our sanity in the winter. I’m totally going to check out your Pinterest board!

Leave a Reply

