A Nerdy Optimistic Adventurer

Happy Wednesday all! I would like to introduce you all to my lovely feature sponsor Meg from Rivers and Roads! This girl is seriously one of the sweetest bloggers I know and I always look forward to what she has to say in her posts. Meg and her blog are too cool not to talk about so I decided to share a little Q&A so that you all could get to know her better!

Meg from Rivers and Roads

| What three words best describe you? |
Nerdy, Optimistic, Adventurer

| How long have you been blogging? |
Since August of 2010!

| Why did you start blogging? Why do you continue to do it? |
I first started blogging in 2010 as I was just about to graduate from college, didn’t know what I was doing with my life, and needed a space to write down my thoughts and keep my friends and family up to date. I blogged sporadically for a long time. I didn’t know how to “do” blogging. I didn’t understand it. My blog was just a place where I wrote down some thoughts or randomly shared funny videos. It wasn’t until January 2013 that I started to blog “full-time.” I started posting 3-5 times a week, organizing my content, sharing more readable material, and getting involved in the incredible blogging community. The past year and a half has been a whirlwind of a ride as I’ve learned a TON about blogging, advertising, marketing, and making friends in this online space. As my blog continues to grow, I hope it is a place where people feel welcome, where they can find true community, and where we can all learn from and encourage one another!

Meg from Rivers and Roads

| What do you love to write about most on your blog? |
So many things! One of my most favorite things to write about are my adventures. The every day adventures and the bigger travel adventures. I also love to do DIY posts, talk about my favorite music, tell some of my favorite friendship stories, and talk about life, this journey I’m on, and Jesus.

| In your opinion what is the best part of blogging? What is the worst? |
The community is the absolute best part about blogging! I have made some really great friends in blog land that I would have never met if I did not blog! These friends encourage me, support me and my dreams, and pray for me! It’s such an encouraging thing.

The worst part is when the comparison monster sneaks up on me. I start feeling like my blog will never be good enough or big enough or have as many readers as every one else. I always have to slap myself back to reality when this happens and remind myself that my blog is good enough right now. I blog because it’s fun, because I love the community, and anything beyond that is just the cherry on top!

Meg from Rivers and Roads

| Where do you draw your inspiration from? |
My inspiration tends to come from my every day life. I’m inspired by what I read in my quiet times, by the music I listen to, by my friends, and the new places I explore.

| What song or album do you have playing on repeat lately? |
I have had the “Saving Mr. Banks” soundtrack on repeat at work lately! The music is so beautiful!

Meg from Rivers and Roads

| What are your favorite hobbies (other than blogging)? |
I love the outdoors and grew up in a family that went hiking, backpacking, and kayaking a lot. Those are all things that I still really enjoy! I’m a big reader as well. I’m one of those people that has to read from an actual old fashioned book. No kindles or tablets for me when it comes to reading books. 🙂 I also love photography, and am always working on improving those skills!

| …And now two just for fun… |

| What is your favorite word? |
Brave.

| What is your least favorite word? |
Moist.

12 thoughts on “A Nerdy Optimistic Adventurer

  1. haha – I just saw Cameron Diaz talk about that word moist & how everyone hates it 🙂
    Nerdy… love that.

  2. Pingback: pay day

Leave a Reply

