Trusting God

Trust God

I don’t know about you, but I have the tendency to worry – A LOT. When stuff happens that I can’t control I tend to get a little anxious. Am I the only one that does that?

Lately, I have been getting a little better with this. My need to control situations has really been put to the test in certain areas in my life right now. But no matter how much I improve on my need to control everything, it is one of those struggles that I need to be constantly reminded of.

Coincidentally, my pastor preached on trusting God recently. Funny how God always sneaks in reminders here and there on what He wants for us isn’t it? Anyway, during his sermon my preacher said, “Faith is knowing and believing that God CAN change things; trust is knowing and believing that God WILL do what’s best.” That statement really stuck in my head, and I haven’t been able to get it out since he said it. It got me to thinking about what trusting in God really looks like and how I can do better with trusting Him.

So what does trusting God mean?

Trusting God is believing wholeheartedly that Jesus is in control. Life is not perfect. Situations will come up that are trying and difficult. In those times it is hard to cling to God’s promise that He is in control, but it is in those times that we must hold to the fact that God knows what He is doing and He has a plan for our lives.

Trusting God is knowing that tough situations will not last forever. We may feel like hard or uncertain situations will never change, but God will bring healing and answers. It may not be in the timing we always want, but He will set things right.

Trusting God is being certain that we have everything we need. When we are uncertain about situations in life and try to control every little detail, we often times get to the point where we need more and more things just to get ahead. But Jesus is all we need (John 14:8-9).

Those things are all well and good, but they don’t mean anything if we don’t start developing that trust. So how do we do that? How do we develop our trust in God?

We build our relationship with Jesus – it’s hard to trust someone we don’t know. So we need to get to know Him.

We start trusting Him with the little things – overtime trusting God with the bigger things will become easier.

We remember God’s faithfulness in the past – how has God been faithful to you in the past?

We remember to practice submission – as Christians we are servants of God. Servants don’t have control. Rather they must submit to their master. Our master is God, so what makes us think that we don’t need to submit to Him?

| What are your thoughts on trusting God? |
| Is it something you struggle with like I do? |

This post was originally guest-posted on Click.Pray.Create, but with that blog being deleted I thought I would share it here.

7 thoughts on “Trusting God

  1. Trust is such a difficult thing for those of us who are control freaks, but it’s also surprisingly such a freeing thing! All I have to do now is look back on my life and see the places where God has guided me to (typically down routes I never would have chosen) for me to know that He is in control and is always looking out for me. Prov. 3:5-7

  2. Oh, yes. Trusting is something that I struggle with at times as well. I have a quote in my Bible (not sure where I originally got it), but it says, “trust and worry cannot exist together.” Whenever I find myself worrying about something, that statement always comes to mind. In a recent bible study I read, it talked about God’s holiness and how because He is holy, everything He does is true and right, and because of this, we can fully trust Him in everything!

  3. Pingback: cash money loans

Leave a Reply

