Summer Reading List

 photo summerreading2_zpsc4dab234.jpg

Happy Weekend Everyone!! Or should I say ” Happy Official start of Summer!”

I’m Sheryl and you can find me on a regular basis at How to Make a Life. For today, I wanted to thank Paige for the opportunity to take some time to share one of my favorite things about summer- summer reading. I love nothing better than curling up on my back patio with a fantastic book.

Rather than provide a specific list of summer reads, I wanted to provide a few ideas to creating summer reading list themes.

1. Biographies
I’m not talking serious biographies – but fun, entertaining and interesting. A few summers ago, I made my focus reading biographies of celebrities such as Paula Deen, Kristin Chenoweth, Michael J. Fox and Tori Spelling. I should also add that Tina Fey’s Bossypants had me laughing out loud to myself. Some of them reveal deep dark secrets and others take you inside the world of the rich and famous. Since that time, a whole slew of new celebrity biographies have been published and I encourage you to take a look at who you may find interesting.

2. Pick an Author who writes about a Region You Don’t Live In
I am a southern girl who loves nothing more than to read about my region. With that being said, I’m not even sure how I found the author Elin Hilderbrand Most of her books are true summer reads and take place on Nantucket Island (an area I have never visited). I started with The Castaways and have read most all of her books. A few of my other favorites also include: Barefoot, Summerland and Silver Girl.

3. Find a New Author Who Does Live In Your Region
Each region of the country has fantastic authors. From a summer reading perspective, I absolutely love Anne Rivers Siddons. Her stories take place in multiple areas of the southeast but I am particularly found of her stories which take place in the Outer Banks of North Carolina, the Low Country of South Carolina and in Georgia (some of my favorite places). I began with Outer Banks, and followed up with Peachtree Road, Downtown, and Islands. (I truly have read all of her books and have pre-ordered The Girls of August due out in July 2014).

Another great southern author is Pat Conroy. Of course there is The Prince of Tides and The Great Santini but I truly love South of Broad and Beach Music.

4. Choose a Book that is Listed on Multiple “To Read” Lists
If I find a book suggested in multiple sources and it sounds interesting, I often put it on my own list. A few years ago, Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl was on every list I found. I absolutely loved it and as a result, I’ve read her other books. Most of the books I have found this way have always been on Oprah’s Book Club suggestion (but I always wait to see if it is mentioned somewhere else). When I find my time is short for pleasurable reading, I always use this as a marker.

5. Pick a Book From “You May Also Like” when making a purchase on Amazon or Barnes and Noble
Last summer I found a few books which I thoroughly enjoyed which I wouldn’t have found otherwise.

What are some of your reading plans for the summer? Do you have a method for choosing your next read? 

Here’s wishing you a fantastic summer ahead – full of lots of sun and fun reading.

8 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

  1. I love the “you might like” feature on things. I check out the reviews on Goodreads & see what others think & then jump in.
    I also love biographies.

  2. Great tips! I constantly am adding books to my Amazon wish list! Like, every day I will add at least one or two new books! Here’s to hoping I get to read them all! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

