Forgiveness | A Guest Post by How to Make a Life

I have a special treat for you this Saturday morning! I am so excited to introduce you all to Sheryl from How to Make a Life. I have truly enjoyed getting to know her the past several weeks. She is a big journaler like myself and she always has great things to say on her blog.

And here she is…

 photo Forgiveness_zpsef6429cc.jpg

Hi Everyone! I’m so happy to have the opportunity to post today for Paige. By day I am a counselor specializing in working with individuals going through life transitions. By night, I utilize my professional and personal experience on my blog  How to Make a Life. This is where I write about all the things in life which help to make a happy, healthy and beautiful life. Today I want to share about an act that each of us can do to make our lives better.

What do you do when someone hurts you? Do you tell that person? Do you hang on to it? Do your forgive that individual even if they feel  they have done no harm? 

The definition of forgiveness is “the act of excusing a mistake or offense” 

Everyone of us have been hurt by someone at sometime or the other. The hurt can come from something small such as someone not keeping a planned get together to something large such as spreading lies or cheating in a relationship. Hurt can come in many forms and sadly can damage relationships and the person holding on to the hurt.

Over the years there have been individuals who have hurt me, sometimes the hurt was not done on purpose and in other times it was done with intent. It isn’t always easy to tell someone they have hurt you and when you do, it may not be taken well. That individual may not even think they did anything to cause you pain.

Our natural instinct is to recoil when we have been injured. We do not naturally overflow with mercy, grace and understanding when we have been hurt. Thus, forgiveness is a conscious choice we must choose to make.

As I searched more into the subject of forgiveness, Matthew 6: 14 stood out:
For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.(NIV)

Does that mean not forgiving is a sin? 

Over the past few weeks, forgiveness has been a subject for a few of my clients and I’ve also been thinking of my own need to forgive. For my client, she continues to beat herself up for something she did from over 20 years ago. I asked her if she was able to forgive herself for the mistake she made and to let it go rather than hold onto it. She stated she had not thought about it in that way. For myself, I need to forgive someone who not only hurt me but also others that I loved. Sadly, I’ve been afraid to forgive because the others do not feel they have done any harm.

Frankly, holding onto the hurt is exhausting and I realize that I need to provide forgiveness as much for myself as for the others. Forgiving can relieve you from a weight you daily carry whether you know it or not. Forgiveness is necessary.

I do not know what hurt may have been inflicted upon you, perhaps from a younger you who acted in behaviors you are not proud of or perhaps another person has harmed you deeply. Whatever hurt you have in your life, I hope you will take a few minutes to think about forgiving. Forgive yourself. Forgive the other person. 

What a great reminder! Thank you so much for sharing this reminder that forgiveness is important and that we all need to forgive and let go of hurt from the past.

5 thoughts on “Forgiveness | A Guest Post by How to Make a Life

  1. Thank you for this! I struggle with forgiveness of people who bullied me as a kid. It’s really hard but God commands us to forgive just as he forgave us!

Leave a Reply

