52 Lists | Week 12 |

Journal Prompt/Blog Prompt: List the things that feel like home

“There’s no place like home.”

“Home is where your heart is.”

“Home is where your story begins.”

We all know these quotes. We are familiar with their attempts to explain and define home. Now don’t get me wrong these are great quotes, but for me they don’t completely define home. And neither does the dictionary when it defines “home” as “a place where one lives; a residence,” or as “a dwelling place together with the family or social unit that occupies it; a household,” or as “an environment offering security and happiness,” or even when it says it is a “valued place regarded as a refuge or place of origin.” These definitions aren’t specific enough.

For this week’s 52 Lists, the prompt asked to list the things that feel like home. Here is my definition of “home”.

  • Warm blankets
  • Lyle
  • My pets: Daisy, Kris-P, and Cozzy
  • My bed
  • Family: no matter how far away they live
  • My journal
  • Lots of pillows (everything is so much cozier with at least 10 pillows lying around)
  • Love
  • My church
  • Organized messes
  • An unfinished kitchen (one of these days it will get done)
  • Green Tea
  • House boots
  • Purple walls
  • Cozy fireplace
  • Board games
  • Mountain views
  • Candles

    I know that some of these might seem silly but they are what makes my house feel like more than just a building. They make my heart feel at home.

    | What things make you feel at home? |

    25 thoughts on “52 Lists | Week 12 |

        1. I have 4 dogs πŸ™‚ 2 are Australian Shepherds – 1 is a Carine Terrier & the other is the cutest mutt ever πŸ™‚ … my DVR? Full of EVERYTHING! All the Real Housewives, to Arrow, to Scandal πŸ™‚

    1. Yes – the more pillows, the more it feels like home πŸ™‚ For me, it’s pillows, cozy blankets, candles, pictures that have meaning hanging on the walls, my family & those I love!

      1. Wonderful things! My house is actually really lacking in pictures on the wall 😦 Never got around to that part when we moved in to our house…3 years ago πŸ™‚ Do you use picture frames or are you more of a canvas kind of person for pictures?

        1. Both – I love the combination! And i’m just getting to decorate a new apartment & it’s really weird to me because there’s nothing really on the walls yet. So bare. But right now I just have some pictures in frames that I thrifted πŸ™‚

        2. I haven’t yet, but I should! I’ve found a lot of cute, plain white frames that would look great painted! I also love painting – it’s a great stress reliever for me! So that would definitely be a fun project πŸ™‚ Maybe a blog post! Haha. I’m always looking for new ideas!

    2. I love this idea of 52 lists!! Dishes in the sink, a ridiculous amount of salsa in the fridge, more basketball shorts than five husbands should own and a lot of love (cheesy but true) are just a few of the things that remind me of home!

      1. Ooh yes, dishes in the sink are definitely a sign of home for me as well. I hate doing the dishes πŸ™‚ Isn’t it crazy how dishes and laundry always seem to multiply quicker than anything else?

        1. πŸ™‚ That’s funny. I rarely use those scents even during those season. I’m weird and really like to match my candles to my decor. My hubby thinks I’m crazy and hates it because we are limited to candles that are white, purple, pink, or blue. I love those smells though so I typically get those in scentsy form πŸ™‚

    3. blankets and pets are definitely in my list! Coffee mugs and a comfortable chair are up there too. This is a great project.

    4. Blankets and pillows! How could I forget those two! And I definitely have to agree with Katie, below, coffee mugs and an over-sized chair. Sounds like home to me! πŸ™‚

    5. For me, a certain smell reminds me of home. I can’t explain the smell to you, but I know it when it hits my nostrils. lol.

    Leave a Reply

    