When Oceans Rise {Co-Host Faith & Fellowship Blog Hop}

Can you believe it is Friday already? I am excited to be co-hosting the Faith and Fellowship Blog Hop hosted by Susannah over at Simple Moments Stick. You can find out more about this wonderful link-up at the bottom of this post. I am also linking up this post with Aimee’s Find Beauty Friday over at Click.Pray.Create.!

In oceans deep my faith will stand

I took this picture a couple of years ago in the Outer Banks (North Carolina) as a tropical storm was making its way towards the islands. The waves were crashing to shore with foamy white caps, and the clouds were a perfect grey-blue and rushed quickly overhead as the wind blew. This moment was truly spectacular and a powerful glimpse of God’s majesty. The waters were rising, the wind was blowing fiercely, and the rains were headed my way. In that moment I also saw God so clearly. I saw His power, control, and fierceness. At that same moment I knew that God is in control of my life – not me – and He still is in control and watches over me even in the stormy times of life.

I help lead worship at my church, and this past Sunday we introduced “Oceans” by Hillsong to the congregation. This song is about trusting God to allow tough times in your life and deepening your faith through it. Sometimes the waters will rise, and we will need to call upon God. When those hard, uncertain times happen we need to trust Him more and develop a deeper faith. As we practiced this song the stormy picturesque moment from a couple of years ago came to mind.

The lyrics of “Oceans” are too beautiful not to share with you so here they are:

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

I will call upon Your Name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine

Just in case reading those words weren’t enough for you, here is the acoustic version of the song. Enjoy!

| And now for the Faith and Fellowship Blog Hop |

It’s that time again – time for us to join together as a body of Christ and get to know and encourage our sisters in Christ!  Link up any and all posts you’ve written in this past week (or dig into your archives!) that are an encouragement for the Christian community!  I can’t wait to read your testimonies, find out what God’s doing in your life, or learn what you’re learning in your quiet time!

Faith and Fellowship Guidelines

1.  Link up a post (not just the link to your blog) from the week that shares what the Lord’s been doing in your life or speaking to you.
2.  Put the button on your blog post or blog so that others can hear about this wonderful group of Godly women.
3.  Visit as many blogs as you’re able and get to know your sisters in Christ!
4.  Share this blog hop on social media using #faithandfellowship or pin the button on pinterest.

Simple Moments Stick
Simple Moments Stick

Your Host:

Susannah1
Susannah from Simple Moments Stick

Your Cohosts:

Paige from Moments for the Journey  //    Victoria from Mine to Live

If you’d like to cohost in the future, please email Susannah at susannah.kellogg (at) gmail.com


17 thoughts on “When Oceans Rise {Co-Host Faith & Fellowship Blog Hop}

  1. “I saw His power, control, and fierceness. At that same moment I knew that God is in control of my life – not me – and He still is in control and watches over me even in the stormy times of life.” I love that.

    “Oceans” is one of the most powerful worship songs to ever come out of Hillsong. I am certain of that. It is such a great praise and prayer to God. Also, I’ve seen you link-up with this blog hop before, I think I might post my guest post I did for you, on my blog today and link up with you guys! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks so much! It really is an amazing song. You should totally link up it is really fun! I only discovered it a few weeks ago and I really enjoy reading through other great posts linked up πŸ™‚

  2. Oh ,so beautiful. I absolutely love that song! Today I also wrote about the ocean, and was listening to this song while doing so.. Just linked up that post! Thank you for sharing! Excited to see what everyone else put up!

    Katherine

    http://www.newsomsnestblog.com

Leave a Reply

