Reminiscing: Our Honeymoon

Our honeymoon holds some of my most precious memories! I have never had as much fun as I had with my hubby on our week-long getaway to the Smokey Mountains in North Carolina. I remember that we couldn’t get to our beautiful cabin fast enough. We drove like 10 over the speed limit the entire 4 hour drive from my parent’s house in South Carolina. (I found out later that we had left their house in such a hurry, that when they got home after cleaning up our wedding decorations they discovered their front door was left open [oops!]). But to be fair, who wouldn’t want to get to this cabin in a hurry! (just kidding mom, I’m still sorry about that)

The week of our honeymoon was splendid! It was relaxing, romantic, and just plain fun. We went on a lot of hikes, and saw a lot of waterfalls.

We saw Linville Falls and Linville Caverns.

We also saw my favorite waterfall in the area – Mingo Falls.

And of course we took a lot of selfies! When we weren’t out hiking and marveling at God’s beautiful creation, we spent a lot of time in the hot tub at our cabin, watching movies curled up on the couch, and eating TONS of leftovers from our wedding reception.

We also made sure to climb a few trees! I started to realize on our honeymoon more than I ever had that I had married a crazy, silly, spontaneous man. And I began to thank God that he brought Lyle into my life, because I knew that with Lyle we would have very few dull moments. Lyle brings out my fun side. Without him I would be a stick in the mud.

On our last full day in Maggie Valley Lyle and I decided to go to the little amusement park in town. When I say “little” I mean little. Most of the rides were broken, and there were only like 4 other tourists in the entire park, but we had a blast! We rode the couple of rides that were working several times until I got sick on one of those that goes around in a circle really fast. We played the carnival games and won a couple of pathetically ugly stuffed animals (which I still have). And we of course ate funnel cakes and fried snicker bars! You can’t go to an amusement park without eating junk food.

But I would have to say that one of the highlights of our day at Ghost Town was seeing this guy and his fanny pack! That’s an amazingly large fanny pack right!?

I always loved Maggie Valley, NC before our honeymoon, but now it is even more special to me. We have been back several times since our honeymoon, and each time the memories of that week flood back, and I can’t help but smile!

| Where did you and your hubby spend your honeymoon? |

| More About Our Love Story |
Girl Meets Boy
Our Engagement
Our Wedding
Our First 5 Years

10 thoughts on “Reminiscing: Our Honeymoon

  1. Wow, that looks beautiful. And I’m jealous that you actually got to eat your reception food – I think all I got was a couple bites of cake. After the reception we rushed off as fast as possible, too. I’m thinking how great it would be to be back in Jamaica now!

  2. What a great place to honeymoon! My husband and I make trips to the NC mountains several times a year to drive the parkway and explore waterfalls all the time. It’s one of our favorite places to go.

Leave a Reply

