Reminiscing: Our Wedding

Reminiscing Our Wedding

So you know how every girl says that her wedding day was the greatest day of her life? Well, I would probably say that my wedding day was wonderful, but not necessarily the greatest day of my life. I was nervous to have to be the center of attention, I was wishing that I knew how to do my make-up better, I was chastising myself for not getting started with taking pictures at an earlier time before the ceremony, and I was wishing that I had researched wedding pictures more and been able to get some better shots.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVED my day. It was so special, but my pessimistic self had to work really hard at not getting caught up in these thoughts as the day progressed. And also don’t get me wrong, I love my wedding pictures, but there are some shots we missed because we didn’t have time, or I didn’t know to ask for them.

Anyway, on to our wedding day. I woke up on May 16, 2009 late (of course), and I rushed out of my parent’s house with my maid of honor and one of my bride’s maid. We rushed over to the church. The sky was cloudy and gray and I thought for sure that it would rain and dampen the whole day. (Once again my pessimistic self).

Sand Hill FWB CHurch

After arriving at the church, I started getting ready. I did my makeup, and my wonderful sister-in-law did my hair. Lyle and I had decided ahead of time that we wanted to take most of the pictures before the ceremony so that people wouldn’t have to wait around at the reception too long, but we still wanted the first time of him seeing me in my dress to be special. So we decided that we would see each other before the service alone. The only other person allowed in the room during that moment was our photographer (who happened to be Lyle’s best man) – Matt Walton.

That moment of seeing each other for the first time on our wedding day was sublime. I cherish my memory of the huge smile on his face. I had never felt so beautiful as I did at that moment. The way he looked at me with pride, pleasure, and pure joy was breath-taking.

After our few minutes alone, we took pictures until it was time for the ceremony to start. Now don’t laugh at me, but I completely botched up our ceremony and here are the ways in which I did that: 1. I broke the door handle on the doors entering the church. After my dad finally got the door handle back on, we couldn’t here the music and so I didn’t know whether or not the wedding party was in place, and if it was my turn to come out. So everyone started looking around all confused and worrying that I had run out on Lyle on our wedding day. It was pretty funny stuff – not at the time, but it is now. 2. I forgot my bouquet. I make it to the front of the church and realize that I was not holding the beautiful lily bouquet that my mom and I picked out. So of course I looked at Lyle and said, “I forgot my bouquet,” and my mom and all of my brides maids were laughing at me. 3. I couldn’t make it through my vowels without crying, which of course made me laugh at myself, which in turn resulted in an awkward snort from my laughing-crying combo.

Needless to say, I don’t watch my wedding video often, because it is really embarrassing 🙂

Other than my silly moments, the ceremony was great! Lyle and I smiled the whole time. My talented maid of honor sang for us. We said this beautiful vow that makes me tear up every time I read it: “I Lyle, take you Paige to be my wife, my partner in life and my one true love. I will cherish our union and love you more each day than I did the day before. I will trust you and respect you, laugh with you and cry with you, loving you faithfully through good times and bad, regardless of the obstacles we may face together. I give you my hand, my heart, and my love, from this day forward for as long as we both shall live.” And our first kiss was magical.

After the ceremony we took a few more pictures, and then walked over to our reception. I was so ready for food, and we had lots of it! We decorated the fellowship hall in beautiful clear vases with lilies and floating candles, park benches, and park lamps.

Lyle, Paige, Wedding

After a couple of hours at the reception, we decided to head back to my parent’s house to grab my stuff and start our journey to Maggie Valley, NC where we were honeymooning. Lyle’s groomsmen really decked out our car. Before we could get in it we had to empty it of all of the balloons that they stuffed inside. My dress was so heavy and the car was so high that Lyle had to pick me up to get me in the car 🙂 .

Memories of our wedding day are sweet and funny and I cherish them. It is hard to believe that in three of months we will have been married 5 years!

If you missed our story of how we met you can read it here. If you missed our engagement story you can read it here.

9 thoughts on “Reminiscing: Our Wedding

Leave a Reply

