Last Minute Expressions of Love

Picture this with me:

You walk into a flower shop on February 14th. As you open the door, you almost run into a man holding pathetic flowers and looking distraught. As you look beyond this man, you notice that the entire shop is packed with men with similar looks on their faces. You begin to wander around the shop, and you over hear the man at the counter asking, “Are there any boxes of chocolate left? How much extra would it be to add a teddy bear? … Oh really, that much! Let’s forget about the teddy bear.”

That’s not too hard to picture right? Valentine’s Day is meant to be an expression of love, but sometimes it becomes a rushed, last-minute, thrown together day filled with clichés.

Every year around Valentine’s Day I do begin to think about love a little more. I begin to really think about what it means to love. So what is love? Automatically my mind goes to the romantic, stomach in knots, heart fluttering feeling of falling in love.

Ardently love quote from Pride and Prejudice

But love is so much more than that. Love is a decision. It is a choice we must consciously make each day. Jesus called us to love one another (John 13:34-35). He called us to love everyone – even the people we don’t necessarily have warm and fuzzy feelings toward. Love is more than buying chocolates and flowers on February 14th and Valentine’s Day reminds me of that.

(This post is linking up with Weekly Writing Challenge)

Here are some other blogs linking up:

  1. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  2. MY FAIR LADY – GARRY ARMSTRONG | SERENDIPITY
  3. A Journey of Ten Years | A mom’s blog
  4. Daily Prompt: Unconventional Love – Strangely True | SERENDIPITY
  5. MY STRANGELY WONDERFUL ROMANCE | SERENDIPITY
  6. My Funny Valentine | Vampire Maman
  7. Hallmark holiday | Mindful Digressions
  8. False Expectations | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  9. Playlist | Perceptive Pot Clueless Kettle
  10. Fragrant valentine | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  11. Valentine’s Day Can’t Insult My Intelligence if There’s Snow | Bumblepuppies
  12. Love Surrounds You | ReFreshing Life
  13. Lessons from the Ghosts of Valentines Past | The Femindiary
  14. Day 25: Why I Married a Man who got me a Hairdryer for Valentine’s Day | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  15. Validation Day – Valentine’s Day from an Honest Woman’s Perspective | Shoot the messenger
  16. Weekly Writing Challenge| Single Awareness Day | Amy (and The Teddy With Sunglasses)
  17. my first valentine | Musings of a Random Mind
  18. Afraid of Valentine’s Day? | Myammy! Moving in together at 50…
  19. Weekly Writing Challenge: My Funny Valentine. It’s Not Always FUNny. | Tales from the Motherland
  20. I’ve been alone for a long time | “The Ish,” presented by the Bohemian Rock Star
  21. Ah Bloody Valentines! | The life of T
  22. Brief facts on Valentines day/Weekly Writing challenge | standinginthestorm
  23. Weekly Writing Challenge – Valentine – The Hopeless Unromantic |
  24. I Should Have At Least Called | Sam’s Online Journal
  25. Ode to My Valentine | DCTdesigns Creative Canvas
  26. Weekly Writing Challenge: My Funny Valentine? | imagination
  27. Not Your Average Valentine | The Short Pages
  28. My Funny Valentine: Monday Monster Mashup meets the Weekly Writing Challenge! | jak & Cimmy’s Journal Jar
  29. (Un)Funny Valentine – Daily Post “My Funny Valentine?” Challenge 2/10/2014 | blogged artistry
  30. To My Valentine… | Babbleogue
  31. Love of Many Shoes | Mary J Melange
  32. Valentine, Part Two/DP Challenge | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  33. It’s Valentine’s Day! | TNT
  34. St. Hallmark Day Doth Approach | The Eclectic Poet
  35. Valentine’s Day…some wifely advice
  36. The Boy I Married | East Meets Breast
  37. The Valentine’s Letter I wished I’d sent…. | Brownies, Pixies & Horny Toads
  38. [WWC] Valentine’s day | Reatividades
  39. My Funny Valentine? | “Crone-ing”
  40. My Forever Crush | My Weigh To Lose
  41. Weekly Writing Challenge: My Funny Valentine? – Love, Love, Love | SA:ME (사메)
12 thoughts on “Last Minute Expressions of Love

Leave a Reply

