One thing I know for sure

know for sure quote moments for the journey

When I was a little girl, I was sure that the world was safe. I was sure that if I fell off of my bike that my mom would be there to magically make my scrapes and bruises better.

In middle school I was sure that I knew it all. I was sure that my awkwardness wouldn’t last forever and that I would grow up to be a gorgeous model.

In high school I was sure that the days couldn’t pass any slower and that college couldn’t get there fast enough. I was sure that no one understood the way I felt.

And before I got married I was sure that my husband would never be inconsiderate and leave dirty clothes on the floor…

Well, I was wrong about all of that.

The world is not nearly as safe as I thought it was when I was 5. My mom’s only magically power was love and care. I didn’t (and still don’t) know it all. I didn’t grow up to be a model. Time passed quickly in high school, even if it didn’t feel like it at the time. My mom knew exactly how I felt, but I didn’t realize it until I had caused her and myself useless pain. And Lyle does leave dirty clothes on the floor {right next to the dirty clothes hamper}.

It’s funny how growing up, and even still as an adult, there are things I knew for certain only to later realize that I was wrong. Over time I have come to realize that there is very little that I can be sure of.

One thing that I know with absolute certainty is that God loves me. He loves me so much that He gave His only son to die for me – a dirty rotten sinner. Jesus graciously bore my sins when He suffered and died on the cross, and I have absolute faith in that gift.

Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.
Hebrews 11:1

Linking up with
Girl Between the Lines Link up
7 thoughts on “One thing I know for sure

Leave a Reply

