Being an Introvert that is Never Alone

introvert, alone, dpchallenge,

Have you ever been alone at night and thought with absolute certainty that you saw something move in the corner of your eye. It’s pretty scary when that happens. I work in an old one story brick school building. It’s really long and the hallway is always cold. At the end of the long hallway there is an “EXIT” sign that glows that creepy green color. Between work and church responsibilities (the church and school are in the same building) I spend A LOT of time in that building, and unfortunately some of that time is at night when it is dark.

There have been some nights where my mind plays tricks on me. There have been some nights where I am almost positive that I have seen someone walking across the hall in front of that “EXIT” sign. In those instances my heart stops and I freeze – afraid to take a second glance down the hallway for fear of what I saw actually being real.

dpchallenge, alone, arches
“Photography triggers different ideas and emotions in all of us, given our varied paths and perspectives.” – by Cheri Lucas Rowlands (Weekly Writing Challenge:1,000 Words)

When I saw the picture posted above, my brain automatically took me to those moments. I immediately thought about those seconds where, whether I am alone in the building or not, I feel alone and scared. But I also thought about those moments where my heart reminds me that I am never alone and I never have to be afraid, because God is with me. He has promised that He will never leave me nor forsake me.

“The LORD is my light and my salvation– whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life– of whom shall I be afraid?” Psalm 27:1

“The LORD is with me; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?” Psalm 118:6

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

“When I am afraid, I will trust in you.  In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me?” Psalm 56:3-4

I relish in the knowledge that no matter what life throws my way I am never alone, and I never have to fear.

18 thoughts on “Being an Introvert that is Never Alone

  1. Love this reminder! It is one that never gets old. 🙂

    Btw, from the sounds of that school/church description in your first paragraph, I would be creeped out too. And at night, before I go to bed, my closet door HAS to be closed. This is kinda similar right? ha!

  2. I scare myself all the time. The worst is when you’re washing your face and you’re afraid there is going to be something behind you when you open your eyes after washing your face! Or am I just weird? Haha! Thanks for sharing your heart!

  3. I always get scared when I’m washing my face at night. I always think there’s going to be something behind me when I open my eyes! Is that weird? Haha! Thanks for sharing your heart!

Leave a Reply

