It’s Like My Heart Cries Crucify Him

Acts 3:14-16

14 You disowned the Holy and Righteous One and asked that a murderer be released to you. 15 You killed the author of life, but God raised him from the dead. We are witnesses of this. 16 By faith in the name of Jesus, this man whom you see and know was made strong. It is Jesus’ name and the faith that comes through him that has completely healed him, as you can all see.

Oh man, when I read these verses they were super convicting. In these verses Peter was addressing the crowd that had gathered at Solomon’s Portico in the temple after he had healed a lame man.

Which by the way – side note – I have to wonder how many times Peter had given this same talk to himself. After all he had denied Christ that same day that he is speaking about to the people…

Anyway, back on point, these verses got me to thinking about how I have done the same thing to Jesus that all of those people had done. No, I had not yelled “crucify him” and then been happy when a murderer was released in his place, but my heart hasn’t been far from that at times. When I have been selfish and worldly and begged for meaningless things while completely ignoring God’s will, I have for all intent and purposes done the same thing.

But the second half of these verses gives me hope. By faith through His name He will show grace in spite of me. God doesn’t need me to accomplish greatness – He is the definition of greatness – but I am so glad He chooses to work through me when I open my heart to Him!

Leave a Reply

