Love God With All Your Passion

IMG_1362

Lately I have been really convicted about how deeply God loves me, and how I constantly fail at showing Him the love that He deserves in return.

Mark 12:30 says, “Love the Lord God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence and energy.”

In “Reigniting Your Passion for God”, Rick Warren said “‘Passion’…in Greek, is the word ‘heart.’ God is saying I want you to put some muscle into it. Put some energy, put some emotion into your relationship with me…Give it all you’ve got.”

Are you giving your relationship with God all you’ve got? I know I’m not. Instead of treating God like my one and only, I treat Him like one of many. I don’t have enough time in the day or enough energy to put the amount of effort into my relationship with God that He deserves when I treat Him like one of many. He deserves all of my energy, all of my emotion, and all of my heart.

Now I know some of you may be thinking “Whoa now, step back. That sounds a little extreme. I mean what about family, friends, work, church. Don’t those need our attention and energy? Doesn’t my spouse deserve my heart and emotion?”

Don’t get me wrong, those are all great things. I love Lyle. I love my family and friends. I put effort into my job and my ministry. But without God being my sole passion – without treating God as though He is my one and only – I will ultimately fail at properly loving anyone else.

1 John 4:16 says, “God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.” God is love. He is the perfect example of love. Who better to learn from about love?

Anyway, I better end this post before I start completely rambling :). I just wanted to share with you all my latest conviction. So this week, keep this in mind – put some energy and emotion into your relationship with God.

 

2 thoughts on “Love God With All Your Passion

Leave a Reply

