Perfect Love

I mentioned in my Moments that Matter post that leading worship last Sunday was one of my favorite moments last week, and this post explains why.

I loved leading worship last Sunday. The congregation sounded great, and it was one of the most fun times of worship I have ever had. On Saturday night, I planned a short Bible reading to correlate with the songs we sang. Before the services started on Sunday morning I started getting really nervous about what I had planned. I kept feeling as though what I had planned would be more of a distraction to the worship than an aid, so I simply decided to just let the service flow and let God lead – and boy did He!

My favorite praise and worship song is “How He Loves.” Here are the lyrics:

He is jealous for me,
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realize just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.And oh, how He loves us oh,
Oh how He loves us,
How He loves us all

He is jealous for me,
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realize just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.

Oh how he loves,
Yeah, He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us,
Oh! how He loves.

And we are His portion and He is our prize,
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes,
If His grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.
And Heaven meets earth like an unforeseen kiss,
And my heart turns violently inside of my chest,
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets,
When I think about, the way…

Oh, how He loves us oh,
Oh how He loves us,
How He loves us all
How He loves

Yeah, He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us,
Oh how He loves.
Oh what love

Yeah, He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us so.

Isn’t that beautiful!?
Anyway, I was really convicted to share my thoughts on the song. It was these thoughts that God changed around (and made so so much better).
I love this song because it is a great reminder of how much God loves me. But I can also see where this song could pose the danger of it becoming more about us – how much God loves us, rather than focusing on the fact that God is love.
1 John 4:8-10 says, “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. 10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”
These verses tell us that God is love and He showed perfect love by sending His son to take the punishment for our sins. What greater example of love is there than that? It is because of God’s love that we can love, and we should love Him back. Now, whenever I hear this song and sing it, I make sure that I sing it with a heart of love toward God and praise for His perfect love.
(In case you have never heard the song, here it is)
One thought on “Perfect Love

Leave a Reply

