Thankful Thursdays: Week 1

Thankful Thursdays

Colossians 3:16-17

16 Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. 17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

I wish that I could honestly say that everything I do was in the name of the Lord Jesus. If I would only stop before I said or did something, and thought, “Is what I am about to say and do in the name of Jesus?” If I did this, it would certainly limit my actions and words to only those that are pleasing to God.

Verse 17 also reminds me that I am not nearly thankful enough for all that God does for me. In whatever I do I must give thanks to God. “Whatever” in this verse does not mean whenever an activity pleases me, but rather in everything I do.

In an effort to become a more thankful person, I want to start Thankful Thursdays. Every Thursday I will post one thing that God has done for me that week that I am thankful for. I am excited about starting this new weekly post!

This week’s Thankful Thursday: On Monday, it snowed for most of the day (in April!), but by the time I got off work the sun had come out, the snow had melted, and Lyle and I were able to play tennis. Isn’t it awesome that God is so powerful that He controls the weather? And on Monday He controlled it so that Lyle and I could spend a lovely and fun afternoon together!

What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

