Christian Conduct

The other day I was reading through 1 Thessalonians. At the end of chapter 5, Paul gives instructions for the church to follow. Here is what Paul had to say:

12 Now we ask you, brothers, to respect those who work hard among you, who are over you in the Lord and who admonish you. 13 Hold them in the highest regard in love because of their work. Live in peace with each other. 14 And we urge you, brothers, warn those who are idle, encourage the timid, help the weak, be patient with everyone. 15 Make sure that nobody pays back wrong for wrong, but always try to be kind to each other and to everyone else. 16 Be joyful always; 17 pray continually; 18 give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 19 Do not put out the Spirit’s fire; 20 do not treat prophecies with contempt. 21 Test everything. Hold on to the good. 22 Avoid every kind of evil.  – 1 Thessalonians 5:12-22

As I read through the verses I underlined each instruction and wrote them down in my notebook. As I did this it became obvious that Paul was giving a list of behaviors that Christians should strive to accomplish. Here is the list of “Christian Conduct” I came up with in reading the verses:

  1. Respect those who teach you
  2. Live in peace with one another
  3. Admonish the unruly
  4. Encourage the fainthearted
  5. Help the weak
  6. Be patient [with everyone]
  7. Seek after what is good for one another
  8. Rejoice always
  9. Pray without ceasing
  10. Give thanks
  11. Do not quench the Spirit
  12. Do not treat prophecies with contempt
  13. Examine teachings carefully
  14. Hold fast to what is good
  15. Abstain from evil

After writing down this list I decided that I wanted to take a closer look at each of these topics. So I have decided to take some time (I’m not sure how much time yet) to look into each of these farther, and see what God has to teach me. As I dive into to these topics, I figured I would share what I have learned with you.

So stayed tuned for this “Christian Conduct” series.

**Below are links to post in this Christian Conduct Series**

One thought on “Christian Conduct

Leave a Reply

