Failure to Love

As some of you may know, I am a receptionist for a low-income elderly apartment complex, and as such I deal with a lot of people during the day. Being the introvert that I am some days are better than others when it comes to interactions with people. In addition to my shy nature I also have little patience with rude people. Therefore I sometimes fail at showing God’s love to people.

Yesterday was one of those times. Not only did I fail at being loving, but I failed hard, and I have felt horrible since.

Here’s what happened, an elderly lady in the building had lost her keys Monday, and she came to me to see if I had found them. So I checked my lost and found drawer and recovered two keys on a pink stretchy keychain. She then proceeded to claim those keys, because she believed they were hers.

Yesterday another lady comes by my desk because she had lost her keys and was hoping I had them. Well, it turns out that her keys were on the exact same kind of keychain as the previous lady’s. As a result lady #2 got very upset at me for giving her keys away. While lady #2 was getting on to me, I called lady #1 and explained to her the situation and she willing agreed to return the keys to me. However, lady #2 did not seem to care that the situation was resolving, and continued to speak harshly to me… And sadly I snapped. 😦

Rather than responding in a calm loving way, I became harsh with her and spoke down to her. I so wish that I could be more like Christ and respond in love. Anyway, I really needed to share my failure; sorry for the rambling 🙂

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” (John 13:34, 35 NIV)

3 thoughts on “Failure to Love

  1. You’re not alone! I’ve snapped way too many times! Good post and I will try to love better too! Even though it can be really hard sometimes!

  2. We all fail at some time or another that is part of our human sin nature if we could be perfect then we would not have a need for Christ. But until we are with Him and put off this old nature and are transformed on that day when He calls us, we just have to learn in our weakness He is made strong. The most important thing is the Holy Spirit brought it to your attention and you have done what you can to walk a little closer and only with Christ help are we able to do that. There use to be a song. “He’s still working on me to make me what I ought to be” We are all works in progress

Leave a Reply

