Worthy of the Gospel of Christ

This morning I read Philippians 1, and verse 27 was very convicting for me:

Only conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or remain absent, I will hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel.

Do I conduct myself in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ? If I had to answer, I would have to say no. I probably act in a manner unworthy of the gospel far more than I do in a manner that is worthy. Unfortunately, I think I let my negative attitude get in the way a majority of the time.

This verse convicted me in that if I am not acting as Christ, then I am not worthy to carry the name “Christian”. My actions and attitude are the only bit of Jesus and the gospel some people see in a day, and I want to be able to say that I am handling that responsibility well.

So my goal today is that as I go throughout the day, I will continually ask myself, “Am I conducting myself in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ?”

One thought on “Worthy of the Gospel of Christ

Leave a Reply

