“By Supplication I Will Lead Them”

A week ago today, Lyle and I were in Pocahontas, Arkansas.  I would love to say that we were there for a joyous occasion, however the occasion was anything but a joyous one.  A week ago today, the Williams family laid Pam Williams to rest.  Lyle’s mother died on September 10, 2011, and she will be greatly missed.

During this time of grieving I keep turning to Jeremiah 31: 9 and 13 for solace.  In these verses God says,

“With weeping they will come,
And by supplication I will lead them;
I will make them walk by streams of waters,
On a straight path in which they will not stumble;
For I am a father to Israel,
And Ephraim is My firstborn. …
Then the virgin will rejoice in the dance,
And the young men and the old, together,
For I will turn their mourning into joy
And will comfort them and give them joy for their sorrow.”

When I read these verses I cannot help but thank God for drawing me near to Him.  It is such a comfort that in sorrow, He draws us near to Him and does not leave us.  In these verses God promises to turn our mourning into joy – a joy that can only come from God.  It is in sorrow that we notice most that we need God and the comfort that He provides.  It is in sorrow that we make supplications to Him, and through those humble prayers God will lead us and get us through.

One thought on ““By Supplication I Will Lead Them”

Leave a Reply

