Stay.

Picture by Ben Whitehair from his site http://playbillsvspayingbills.com

I know it has been a while since I posted on my fruit of the spirit series, and I do not have an excuse either.

This picture shows true patience.  How many dogs do you know would sit there and wait for some other animal to eat from their food before he gets his turn.  Lately, Daisy, our Golden Retriever puppy, has really caught on to tricks.  She knows “sit”, “lay down”, “speak”, and “stay”.  Her favorite trick is “speak,” but my favorite trick that she does is “stay”.  See, Daisy had a problem with getting so excited during feeding time that she would jump up and knock the cup out of my hand.  After a while this habit of hers got on my nerves, so I decided to teach her stay.  Surprisingly, Daisy learned this trick rather quickly.  I had her sit on the other side of the room, and commanded her to “stay” until I said “go get it”, at which point she bolted towards her food as if she had never eaten a meal in her life.  Over time she has learned more and more patience as I have had her wait longer and longer for her food.

Something I have learned over the years is that learning patience takes patience.  Which is sort of ironic.  It does not just happen overnight.

It has been like a month and a half since I lost my job, and during that month and a half I have learned more patience than I have had previously.  2 Timothy 4:5 says, “But you, be sober in all things, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.”  This verse reminded me that I did not move to Utah to become a legal assistant.  I moved to Utah with Lyle to share Christ with the youth of Ogden.  This lack of a job is currently a hardship that I must endure, but this hardship has freed up more time to fulfill my ministry, and that in itself is a blessing.

One thought on “Stay.

Leave a Reply

