All We Need is Love

Picture from loveofstpaul.blogspot.com

So I know this post is a little late in coming; after all last week was my love week, and today is Thursday in the joy week.  Better late than never, right?

Anyway, last week I learned a lot about myself, and more importantly about love.  To start with, I would like to share one of the things I learned about myself last week, and save the better stuff, the Bible stuff, for last.  Last week I learned that my worldly reactions at work are rooted in my pride.  When these people, who have made a mess of their lives come into the office and talk condescending toward me, I want to tell them “who are you to talk to me like that. I have my life together, do you?”  However, who am I to think condescendingly about them.  I am human just like they are.  My life is a sinful mess just the same as theirs.  My life is only as good as it is because of the change that Christ has made in it.  Anyway, that was my little revelation in the car on the way to work last week.

Now on to the good lessons that I learned from God’s word about reacting and living in love.  I am not sure if this will be the most structured or flowing post I have ever written, but I would like to provide the verses that stood out to me last week and what I learned from them.

Romans 8:37-39 says:

37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Working at a law office that handles its fair share of divorce cases, I get to see plenty of the imperfect love that humans possess for one another.  I hear more stories of humanity’s shortcomings in love than I care to hear.  However, this verse in Romans is described as a love that withstands everything.  Marriages end for all sorts of reasons, i.e. money, selfishness, adultery, laziness, etc.  But the love of our Lord endures all things.  Isn’t that amazing? – Just to know that God’s love is not contingent upon our actions or anything this world can throw at us.  It is an unwavering love that continually overlooks my flaws!  Now, if only I could find that kind of love inside of me and share it with God’s beloved children.

1 John 4:10-12; 19-20 stood out to me as well, and it says:

10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. 11 Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 12 No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us. 19 We love because he first loved us. 20 Whoever claims to love God yet hates a brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother and sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God, whom they have not seen.

These verses taught me that love is not limited.  We cannot pick who we want to love.  Also, love takes effort;  It is not something that is easy to maintain.  We have to work hard to follow God’s example and allow his love to stay at work and be perfected in us.

Another verse that stood out to me last week was Galatians 5:13, which says:

13 You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love.

From this verse I learned that when people are rude, selfish, and arrogant, it would be easy for me to react with snide, rude, arrogant comments in return.  However, Christ did not die to free me from sin for me to use that freedom for fleshly reactions.  Rather, He wants me to respond with love.

After all these wonderful lessons from God’s word, the question to ask is how did I do?  Well, I feel like I did not do great, but I do feel like I performed adequately.  The beginning of the week felt worse than the last few days of the week.  I caught myself one day getting frustrated at a client after calling her a billion times to come into the office to sign her documents that had to be filed with the Court that day or her requests would not be considered.  Yet, when the time came, she did not show up.  She put her case in jeopardy, and I just knew that the lawyer would blame me for it.  Honestly, I feel like I failed in feeling love toward that girl that day.  However, by the end of the week I feel like I put in a more sincere effort into not judging the clients.  By the end of the week, I was not sure if my effort was enough, but I am glad I tried.

Leave a Reply

