World’s Largest Family Portrait

Picture found at designspongeonline.com. Article entitles "sneak peek: eric teng."

I love decorating! That may seem a little random, but I have a point to make (I promise). Because I love decorating I read a lot of magazines that relate to that topic. In these magazines there are always beautiful pictures of perfectly decorated rooms. Some are more modern in style, others more classic; some show off bright, bold colors, while others use more earthy, neutral tones. In my explorations through countless home decor magazines I have found that I do not cater to one particular style. Rather I find beauty in them all. However, I have found that I the most beautiful rooms remain the ones adorned with pictures of family and friends. The most homey, inviting rooms are the ones personal pictures rather than impersonal paintings and decorations. That being said, one can understand why just about everyone has family portraits hanging on the walls.

However, I believe that the design aspect of personal pictures is not the main reason why everyone shows off and cherishes pictures of family and friends. Rather I believe it is because God created humans to possess an innate desire for interpersonal relationships. He created us to desire family and friends who love, cherish, and care for us. If He didn’t then why would He say in Genesis 2:18, “It is not good for the man to be alone; I will make for him a helper suitable to him.”? I believe that Christian are lucky when it comes to this because we have the blessing of being a part of the family of God. 1 John 3:1 tells us that we are the children of God. How awesome to know that I am a part of the largest family ever! Just imagine that family portrait hanging on a wall in heaven. 🙂

If you’re a Christian I’m sure that at some point you have been comforted by the realization that you are a part of the family of God. If you haven’t then I hope that you realize it soon. It is such a comfort to know that you are not alone and that no matter what you are experiencing you have brothers and sisters around the world who are praying for you. Each week during prayer time at church we pray for a different country around the world; and each week it is a privilege to pray for my brothers and sisters in Christ and feel that connection with people who I have never even met.

This week Lyle and I received some awesome encouragement from our church family in Tennessee. Bethel Free Will Baptist Church’s youth group sent us an awesome card. Thank you Bethel for your encouragement and prayers.

Leave a Reply

