Beauty in the Background

But when you give to the poor, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving will be in secret; and your Father who see what is done in secret will reward you. – Matthew 6:3-4

In high school I used to always think that the most gifted Christians and leaders were the ones in the foreground being noticed by their peers and elders. But as I matured I learned that some of the most vital leaders and workers in a church or organization were those that worked in the background.

Personally I have never been one to stand in front of a crowd and comfortably speak, sing, or play piano. When I have had to do these things it was nerve-racking. As an adolescent, to my disdain, I found that I enjoyed the planning and organizing of events far more than running them. I mean how were people going to appreciate me if they had no idea I did anything? In high school I wanted so badly to participate in student council, but had zero desire to be president. Instead I ran for the roles of treasurer or secretary because the other “more important” roles terrified me. I loved the background planning of the events and fundraisers. I loved assisting in organizing and building the set for prom. Even though I loved these things, I still felt useless and unappreciated as I did them.

If I had only taken these verses to heart earlier on I could have been much happier with who I was and what I was doing. Theses serve as a reminder that the background service is greatly appreciated. They tell us that our service in secret will be rewarded!

Leave a Reply

