Burn Baby Burn

Photo from guardian.co.uk

Lyle and I recently moved into our first house. It was built in the 1920’s so it’s old and not without its flaws. However overall it is a beautiful house with lots of space, a big back yard, and a beautiful fireplace. One of my favorite things about our new house is the view from the living room. We have a huge window on the front of the house that looks out at a marvelous mountain view.

Tonight I sat next to the window in my big, comfy chair and read my Bible. I read from Matthew 5 where Jesus is preaching the sermon on the mount.

“You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.¬†Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

As I read I saw the lights of the houses farther up the hill shining bright in the darkness. What perfect verses to be reading while seeing that beautiful sight. It made the verses even more real to me.

These verses were also convicting. Lately, with the move, job hunting, and some other things going on, I have not been focusing enough on my Bible reading and my relationship with God. As I read these verses I felt like I had been letting my light slowly die. Instead of a strong flame, shining bright, I felt like my light had become a sputtering little flicker.

Monday night Lyle and I made our first fire in the fireplace because we had yet to have our new furnace put in so it was cold in the house. It was warm and beautiful right at the start, but once it burned for a few minutes it started to go out because the wood just would not catch the flame. I was so sad when the room started to get really dim and the flame turned into just burning ash. That is how I see my light lately – a dying flame that needs to be rekindled. I need to stop letting everything distract me from what is truly important. God deserves a billion times more glory than I bring Him. Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be a sputtering light growing dimmer by the second. I want to be a bright light like these verses are describing giving light to those around me.

2 thoughts on “Burn Baby Burn

  1. I have serious “View” envy when I’m at your house.

    Great post, as usual. You’re doing more with your light than you realize!

Leave a Reply

