Picking Your Battles

Today for my devotion I continued my reading from Esther. As I was reading from chapter 7, verse 4 stood out to me.

For I and my people have been sold for destruction and slaughter and annihilation. If we had merely been sold as male and female slaves, I would have kept quiet, because no such distress would justify disturbing the king.

This verse caught my attention because of its surprising content. I mean, did you read it? Esther said that if the Jewish people had been sold to slavery rather than death she would not have bothered the king! To me both of those situations would be cause for petition with the king. However, not to Esther. She was careful in choosing her battles.

When I read this verse it made me think about my life right now. Lyle and I just moved into a new home. Actually, today we finally got everything out of storage and into the house. At the moment stuff is just scattered everywhere with particular place yet. I am excited about the decorating and organizing process ahead of us. I also know that Lyle and I have different ideas for the space. This, I know, will cause some slight frustration for both of us. Lyle is stubborn, and I am not afraid to admit that I am as well. Also, I am not afraid to admit that I am selfish, and I know that I will want things set up my way. Now I know that my battles will not me anything close to petitioning for my life or freedom like Esther’s was. However, this verse did help me remember that I need to be careful in choosing my battles. If I want the kitchen and living setup and designed a certain way and Lyle wants something different for the rooms I may need to settle on getting only one of the rooms set my way.

That is the lesson I learned from this verse today. I need to pick my battles carefully. Of course, I may be reading too much into this verse, and if I am let me know. But after reading this verse that is what I gleaned from it.

One thought on “Picking Your Battles

  1. Man you are awesome. Don’t tell anyone but I cried when I read this. Praying for you guys and we miss you like crazy!

Leave a Reply

