Faith Without Works

Yesterday was a good day. The sermon that Tim Lewis gave was convicting. He spoke on 1 John 2:15-17. It was about figuring out what is important in your life and changing your lifestyle to fit those priorities. He called the congregation to prioritize their lives. As he spoke I thought about my top three most important things in my life. I listed my relationship with God, Lyle, and family. However I realized  that my actions didn’t exactly show it. If God really was first in my life I would spend more time with Him. If Lyle really was important to me I would have more patience toward him. And if my family really mattered to me then I would call them more than I currently do.

After church Lyle and I had lunch with some of the children’s church workers and had a meeting to assess where the children’s program stood and what work needed to be done to improve it. It was a great meeting and Lyle has a lot of work to do in organizing the children’s program. Of course, the church has wonder things that are already set up, so that is very helpful.

We spent Sunday afternoon at the church. As Lyle prepared for youth service, I continued reading The Last Christian Generation. Youth service went great. There were only about 5 students there, but the numbers do not matter. What matters is if there students are learning anything, and I feel like everyone listened well and grasped most of the lesson. Lyle’s lesson was from James 2:14-26. The student’s really seemed to understand that faith without works is useless.

One of the students, a boy who isn’t saved, made a connection between this passage and the movie “The Book of Eli.” In this movie Denzel Washington plays a man protecting the only copy of the Bible in existence. He is a drifter named Eli who has been wandering west across North America for the last thirty years reading a unique book that he brings with him. In the movie his character says  “In all these years I’ve been carrying it and reading it every day, I got so caught up in keeping it safe that I forgot to live by what I learned from it.” This one line from a movie help this student to understand what the lesson was about.

After youth service, I went with one of the girls to look at a dress that she wants for her Homecoming dance. This girl has a difficult life and needs our prayers. She sometimes attends an LDS church and willing admits that she is very confused about Christianity and Mormonism. Pray for these students that the Lord will soften their hearts and convict them of the real truth of God and Jesus. Thanks again for your prayers and taking the time to read this blog and staying up to date with our ministry.

One thought on “Faith Without Works

Leave a Reply

